Advanced search

Bruxelles RPUE >

Welcome to the Permanent Representation of Luxembourg to the European Union

The Permanent Representation of Luxembourg to the European Union is based in Brussels and is the Grand Duchy’s biggest diplomatic mission abroad.

Unlike a traditional embassy, which follows the political and economic activities of its host country, the Permanent Representation is a diplomatic body with a larger structure representing all the ministries. The Permanent Representation handles the relations between the Grand Duchy and the European institutions: consultations between Member States within the Council of the European Union and relations with the European Commission and the European Parliament.

The broad direction of Luxembourg’s European policy as well as Luxembourg’s position on the various matters being discussed at a European level are decided by the Government’s Ministerial Council. The ministers defend their country’s position during negotiations within the different Councils of Ministers of the European Union. The Permanent Representation carries out upstream work in preparation for the Councils of the European Union (Councils of Ministers) in the different bodies and technical working parties. This is how it represents Luxembourg’s interests on a daily basis.

The Permanent Representation team comprises diplomats and national experts sourced from the different ministries, representing our country in about 150 working parties established to hold consultations with the other Member States within the Council of the European Union. The work of the technical working parties – covering diverse political topics ranging from internal market to economic and financial affairs, foreign affairs, agriculture, etc. – is coordinated by the COREPER (Committee of Permanent Representatives). The COREPER also prepares the Council of Ministers. Thus, the COREPER serves as an intermediary between the technical level of the working parties and the political level of the Council meetings.

The head of the Permanent Representation of Luxembourg to the European Union is Georges Friden, Ambassador Permanent Representative, member of COREPER II. He works closely with Mike Hentges, Deputy Permanent Representative, member of COREPER I. Patrick Engelberg is the Ambassador to the Political and Security Committee (PSC).



The COREPER – Committee of Permanent Representatives – is the permanent body of the Council which directly prepares the dossiers on the Council agenda. The COREPER meets in two configurations: Coreper II and Coreper I.



Coreper II is composed of the permanent representatives from each Member State. Coreper II prepares the work of 4 Council configurations: the Foreign Affairs Council (FAC), the General Affairs Council (GAC), the Economic and Financial Affairs Council (ECOFIN), and the Justice and Home Affairs Council (JHA). COREPER II also bears the overall responsibility for the preparation of European Council (heads of state or government) meetings and summits with third countries.

COREPER II gathers at least once a week.



COREPER I is composed of each Member State’s deputy permanent representatives. Its role is to prepare the other six configurations of the Council of Ministers: the Agriculture and Fisheries Council (AGRIFISH), the Competitiveness Council (COMPET), the Education, Youth, Culture and Sport Council (EYCS), the Employment, Social Policy, Health and Consumer Affairs Council (EPSCO), the Environment Council (ENV), and the Transport, Telecommunications and Energy Council (TTE). Those matters constitute political domains with a direct impact on the work and everyday life of the EU’s 500 million citizens.

COREPER I also gathers at least once a week.

More information on the different configurations of the Council...  



The Political and Security Committee (PSC) is separated from COREPER and contributes to developing and implementing the EU’s Common Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP) and Common Security and Defence Policy (CSDP). Namely, it defines and follows the EU’s responses to a crisis.

The PSC is composed of one ambassador per Member State and gathers at least twice a week under the presidency of the European External Action Service (EEAS).

More information on the PSC...